Whitehorse, Yukon, to host 2016 Summer Meeting of Canada’s Premiers

by ahnationtalk on July 17, 2015624 Views

ST. JOHN’S, July 17, 2015 – Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski is pleased to announce that the 2016 Summer Meeting of Canada’s Premiers will be held in Whitehorse, Yukon from July 20 to 22, 2016.

“I look forward to chairing the Council of the Federation and leading my counterparts as we continue our work on issues that have an impact on the lives of all Canadians,” Pasloski said.

This will be the first time a territory has chaired the Council of the Federation and hosted the Premiers’ annual summer meeting.

“It is an honour to chair the Council of the Federation at a time when increasing attention is on the North nationally and internationally,” Pasloski added. “Hosting Premiers and their delegations in Yukon next year will showcase the beauty as well as the opportunities of our northern region to the rest of Canada.”

The Council of the Federation was created in 2003 to promote provincial-territorial cooperation and closer ties between members, foster meaningful relations between governments based on respect for the Constitution and recognition of the diversity within the federation, and show leadership on issues important to all Canadians.

– 30 –


Elaine Schiman
Government of Yukon
Cabinet Communications

Joanna Lilley
Government of Yukon
Communications, Executive Council Office


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More