Record 10 indigenous MPs elected to the House of Commons – CBC

by ahnationtalk on October 21, 2015493 Views

8 Liberal and 2 NDP MPs of indigenous heritage will take a seat in Parliament

Oct 20, 2015

There will be a record number of indigenous people in the House of Commons following Monday’s federal election, which saw 10 indigenous MPs elected.

That’s an increase of three from the 2011 election, when seven indigenous people won seats. But there was a significant shift towards Liberal representation, away from Conservative and NDP.

Of the 18 indigenous candidates the Liberals ran, eight won seats. Only one, Yvonne Jones from Labrador, was an incumbent.

Notable new Liberal MPs include Jody Wilson-Raybould, a regional chief of the Assembly of First Nations who took the newly created riding of Vancouver-Granville with just over 40 per cent of the vote.

Read More:

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More