Premier Announces Changes to Executive Council

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Premier Announces Changes to Executive Council

by ahnationtalk on July 24, 2015651 Views

July 24, 2015

Premier Stephen McNeil announced changes to Executive Council today, July 24.

“As premier, I am fortunate to have a very strong and capable team around me,” said Premier McNeil. “As we move forward, I expect to see a greater concentration on the overall priorities of government, which include efforts to grow our population and ensure more opportunities for young Nova Scotians to develop the skills they need to thrive in the workforce.”

The changes to cabinet are:

— Diana Whalen retains her position as Deputy Premier and will become Attorney General and Minister of Justice
— Randy Delorey will become Minister of Finance and Treasury Board, and retain the portfolio of Gaelic Affairs
— Lena Metlege Diab is the Minister of Immigration
— Andrew Younger will return to cabinet as Minister of Environment
— Zach Churchill is the new Minister of Municipal Affairs and Emergency Management Office, and the Minister of Communications Nova Scotia
— Lloyd Hines, MLA for Guysborough-Eastern Shore-Tracadie, will join cabinet as the new Minister of Natural Resources
–- In addition to her duties as Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development, Karen Casey will become Chair of Treasury and Policy Board
— Labour and Advanced Education Minister Kelly Regan will take on the additional responsibility of Minister Responsible for Youth

“In part, these cabinet re-assignments are designed to promote a more aggressive approach to attracting new Canadians to Nova Scotia,” Premier McNeil said. “By having a minister dedicated to immigration, I believe Nova Scotia will benefit from a more focused approach to growing our population.”

The changes to Executive Council are effective immediately.

For a complete list of cabinet roles and responsibilities visit .


Media Contact: Laurel Munroe
Premier’s Office
Cell: 902-222-0473
Email: [email protected]


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More