NL Government: Recipients of 2022 Teaching Awards Announced

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

NL Government: Recipients of 2022 Teaching Awards Announced

HDownload Audio

by ahnationtalk on June 22, 202219 Views

June 22, 2022

Today the Provincial Government announced the recipients of the 2022 Premier’s Award for Teaching Innovation and the Minister of Education’s Award for Compassion in Teaching.

The Premier’s Award for Teaching Innovation recognizes primary, elementary or secondary teachers in all disciplines who have demonstrated innovation in instruction and a commitment to preparing their students for future success.

The 2022 Premier’s Award recipients are:

  • Christopher Butler, St. George’s Elementary, Conception Bay South
  • Megan Heath, École Rocher du Nord, St. John’s
  • Stephanie Hodder, C.C. Loughlin Elementary, Corner Brook
  • Jeffrey Locke , Holy Spirit High, Conception Bay South
  • Jim Locke, Mount Pearl Senior High, Mount Pearl
  • Michelle Maracle, J.R. Smallwood Middle School, Wabush
  • Whitney Pye, St. Mary’s All Grade, Mary’s Harbour
  • Ashley Sheppard, C.C. Loughlin Elementary, Corner Brook

The Minister’s Award for Compassion in Teaching recognizes inspirational and compassionate teachers at the primary, elementary or secondary level who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to supporting the social, emotional and mental health of their students, colleagues or school community as a whole.

The following are the 2022 Minister of Education’s Award recipients:

  • Lora Dawn Angnatok, Jens Havens Memorial Primary, Nain
  • Nancy Boutin, École Boréale, Happy Valley-Goose Bay
  • Mark Bradbury, Templeton Academy, Meadows
  • Paula Bradbury, Corner Brook Regional High, Corner Brook
  • Meghan Devereaux, St. Matthew’s School, St. John’s
  • Stephanie Gillis, Holy Heart of Mary High, School St. John’s
  • Holly Healey, Holy Cross Elementary, Holyrood
  • Bernetta Hickey-Rideout, St. Joseph’s All Grade, Terrenceville
  • Donna Howse Windsor, Elizabeth Park Elementary, Paradise
  • Dwayne Kilfoy, Donald C. Jamieson Academy, Burin

The Honourable Andrew Furey, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Honourable Tom Osborne, Minister of Education, will be presenting the awards to the recipients at a ceremony this fall.

The Teaching Awards were established in 2021 to acknowledge the leadership role that all educators play in the lives of students.


“Congratulations to the 2022 recipients for their exemplary performance and winning the Premier’s Innovation in Teaching award. Our government appreciates the dedication and passion that teachers contribute to enriching student experiences. While today we honour a select few educators nominated by their peers, I would like to take this opportunity to thank all teachers for the great work taking place across our entire public school system.”
Honourable Andrew Furey
Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

“It is an honour to acknowledge the dedication and contribution of educators in Newfoundland and Labrador. The 2022 recipients, and all educators across the province, deserve recognition for supporting the social, emotional and mental health of their students during this unprecedented time. The successes of our school system cannot happen without you.”
Honourable Tom Osborne
Minister of Education

Learn more

News Release: Recipients of Teacher Awards Announced

News Release: Call for Nominations for New Teaching Awards


Annonce des lauréat·e·s des Prix de l’enseignement 2022

Media contacts
Meghan McCabe
Office of the Premier
[email protected]

Tina Coffey
709-729-1906, 687-9903
[email protected]


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More