New members invested into the Order of New Brunswick

by pmnationtalk on November 1, 2016490 Views

November 1, 2016

FREDERICTON (GNB) – Ten accomplished individuals were invested into the Order of New Brunswick today, two posthumously, by the chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau, at a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton.

“These New Brunswickers have contributed greatly to our economy, education and health-care systems, and to our social fabric,” said Premier Brian Gallant. “We are honoured to recognize their achievements with the province’s highest honour.”

The new members are:

  • Kenneth Barlow, from Indian Island, for his progressive work in the economic development of Indian Island First Nation, and for his passion and commitment to keeping the Mi’kmaq language and traditions alive in his community.
  • John P. Barry, from Saint John, for his contributions to the province’s legal profession, and for his dedication as a community leader who has positively impacted numerous health-care, educational and social organizations across New Brunswick.
  • Judith Chernin Budovitch, from Fredericton, for her unwavering and enthusiastic commitment to the advancement of the arts, culture and education in the province.
  • Phil Comeau, from Moncton, for his dedication in portraying the rich and vibrant Acadian and francophone culture through dozens of his films.
  • The late Gérard Friolet, from Bas-Caraquet, for his vital role in the advancement of the modern shipbuilding and fishing industry in New Brunswick.
  • The late Abraham Gesner, from Saint John, for his advancements in the study of geology in the province, and for his revolutionary contributions to the global petroleum industry.
  • Nancy Hartling, from Moncton, for her leadership role in advancing the social and economic rights and opportunities for women in her community and across the province.
  • Deborah Lyons, from Miramichi, for her extraordinary foreign affairs service, and for her courage and determination in making a difference in the lives of women and children in some of the world’s most oppressive and dangerous countries.
  • Jean-Guy Rioux, from Pointe-Brûlée, for his passion and dedication in the advancement of francophone education in the province and country.
  • Sheldon H. Rubin, from Moncton, for his compassion, high quality of patient care, and for his tremendous contributions to cancer prevention and treatment.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field. Since 2002, more than 140 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

“These individuals represent the very best of our province and contribute greatly to our goal of making New Brunswick the best place to live, work and raise a family,” said Gallant.

The 2016 inductees were presented with a medal representing the provincial flower and the shield of arms as well as a special ribbon in the same colours as the shield. Members of the order are entitled to use the initials ONB after their names.

Media Contact(s)

Julie Robichaud, press secretary,
Office of the Premier, 506-238-4256.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More