Cast your vote to name the newest Halifax Transit ferries

by pmnationtalk on May 16, 201770 Views

Monday, May 15, 2017 (Halifax, NS) – The Halifax Regional Municipality is inviting residents to vote for one of five names proposed for the two newest replacement harbour ferries, expected to be delivered in fall 2017 and summer 2018.

Vote online at for one of the following names put forward by residents:

Vincent Coleman
In 1917, during the events of the Halifax Explosion, Vincent Coleman stayed behind to warn an inbound train about the impending explosion that would ultimately take his life. Regardless of how many people he actually saved, his actions speak to a level of heroism of which all Haligonians should be proud.

Ruth Goldbloom
Ruth Goldbloom devoted her relentless energy and strong leadership to a number of charitable causes in Halifax, from the United Way to Mount Saint Vincent University; her crowning achievement was raising the funding and awareness that led to the creation of the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21.

Rita Joe
Rita Joe was born and spent her childhood on a Mi’kmaq reserve at Whycocomagh on Cape Breton Island. She is often referred to as the “poet laureate” of the Mi’kmaq people. She used her writing to teach others about her culture and people.

Dr. Burnley “Rocky” Jones
Dr. Burnley “Rocky” Jones was a prominent member of our local African Nova Scotian Community and an internationally known political activist in the areas of human rights, race, and poverty.

Raymond Taavel
Raymond Taavel was a community member who exemplified civic engagement and was an inspiration to others with his ability to “bridge the gap” between people of different stripes. He is particularly remembered for his tireless advocacy in the advancement of LGBT rights, both locally and nationally, and whose activism never alienated others.

More information on each of the five finalists is available on the voting site at The deadline for casting a vote is end-of-day Sunday, May 21.

Hundreds of names were submitted by residents in the spring 2017.  The final five were selected from a short list by a committee comprised of Mayor Mike Savage and one member from each of the three community councils.

The initial short list was created by Halifax Transit and Corporate Communications staff based on appropriateness, originality, cultural significance and diversity.

Each of the new ferries will be adorned with one of the two names receiving the most votes, subject to final approval by Transport Canada. The two residents who were the first to submit each of the winning names will receive a one-year conventional transit pass courtesy of Halifax Transit and the municipality.

Stay tuned to @hfxtransit on Twitter, use the hashtag #namethatferry, and check for the announcement of the winning names.

Previous ferry-naming contest winners were Viola Desmond (2016), Craig Blake (2015) and Christopher Stannix (2014).

For more information on the Halifax Transit harbour ferry service, visit


Media Contact:

Brendan Elliott
Senior Communications Advisor
Halifax Regional Municipality


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More